Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
2

How to speed up time in your video

3 simple ways to show time passing
2

Hello! While getting out Halloween 🎃 decorations, I realized this would make for a good explainer video on showing slow things.


Transcript:

Hey everybody I wanted to share a quick tip because I was recently getting Halloween decorations out of my attic. I realized this would be a good way to show a problem that a lot of people have if you make “How to” videos and that is:

How to show time passing

There are 3 ways to do this. The first way is by shooting it as a time lapse video. You can do this on your phone and you set it to time-lapse and let it run. It takes a picture every second or so often and compresses it into a video. This is good for anything nature related, like clouds moving or shadows/sun moving.

The 2nd way is to shoot it as a plain video and then speed it up in your editor to 5 or 10 times faster than the viewing speed.

One of my favorites is a method I stole from the tv show Arrested Development. By cutting out the “boring” parts and using small chunks of the video, it makes it funnier and zippier. This works especially if you add fun or “jazzy” type music.

In this last case, I ended up putting my phone right on the inside shelf of my garage door.

It ended up at the perfect height to watch me go up and down the ladder.

Anyway, that’s it. Those are three quick ways to show time passing in a video. Hopefully this helps and good luck making your next video.

Share

2 Comments
Hello Simple Video
Hello Simple Video
Authors
Joe Mendiola